Alk swings with water changes

CJ Monty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am fairly new to the hobby and am learning how important it is to keep a stable dKh. My question is can even a routine water change produce a dKh swing. For example say you keep your tank at 8 dKh. Using this chart (https://www.thatpetplace.com/salt-mix-guide) and reef crystal salt if I did a 15% water change. That would mean you would raise you dKH by (13-8) * .15 = .75 to 8.75. That seems like a sudden swing to me but I know nothing.

Seems like you would want to keep your tank dKh close to whatever salt mix you are using. I know 13 is high so it would seem like this is not an ideal salt mix.

Also trying to up my game on keep dKh stable. If you have any advice on the following it would be helpful. I am between dosing kalk and 2 part. I am leaning towards BRS powder 2 part because :
1. kalk raises ca more the dKh throwing them out of wack
2. pain to make
3. figuring out how much to dose is not straight forward (to me at least right now)

but am worried about:
1. kalk helps maintain ph - 2 part doesn't?
2. does 2 part cost a lot more than kalk?

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok will answer 2 of your questions :) never used to kalk to talk give a response.

For salt mix that is higher dkh than my tank i use sea chem acid buffer. I mix 24 hours before use so the ph effect of the product is gone. Example for 5 gallons of my 9.3-9.5 dkh salt mix. I add 1 gram to bring that bucket to 8 dkh.

2 part is not expensive, but a doser to automate, can be.

OP
OP
C

CJ Monty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok will answer 2 of your questions :) never used to kalk to talk give a response.