Alkalinity management

DGGuaglianone

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Complete novice question but, my tank is currently only consuming alkalinity, no need for calcium or magnesium supplement, water changes are enough to maintain these for now. I currently dose arm and hammer baking soda (sodium bicarbonate, NaHCO3) dissolved in RODI water for my alkalinity supplement. Should I be concerned that I’m adding a significant amount of alkalinity buffer but not balancing it with calcium/magnesium? I’m not worried about specific numbers just trends trying to keep the details out of this discussion. I do test Ca, Mg, nitrate, pH, phosphate, and alkalinity, all are stable except my alkalinity that I’m trying to maintain. Will my tank get out of wack by only dosing alkalinity or is this normal and fine? Thanks for any comment.

Waters

"...in perfect isolation, here behind my wall."
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Complete novice question but, my tank is currently only consuming alkalinity, no need for calcium or magnesium supplement, water changes are enough to maintain these for now. I currently dose arm and hammer baking soda (sodium bicarbonate, NaHCO3) dissolved in RODI water for my alkalinity supplement. Should I be concerned that I’m adding a significant amount of alkalinity buffer but not balancing it with calcium/magnesium? I’m not worried about specific numbers just trends trying to keep the details out of this discussion. I do test Ca, Mg, nitrate, pH, phosphate, and alkalinity, all are stable except my alkalinity that I’m trying to maintain. Will my tank get out of wack by only dosing alkalinity or is this normal and fine? Thanks for any comment.
You will probably get a lot of different answers, but my dosing is controlled by the Apex, and ALK and CA are never dosed equally to maintain the numbers I want to maintain. It is kinda strange you aren't using any CA though (outside of what is replenished with water changes).