Am I Adding to Much Additives??

Coral Newbie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all I’m still new to saltwater and was looking for some advice on additives.

I currently have a Redsea Max E-170 and I feel like I’m adding a tone to the tank that I’m worried it too much. Here’s a list of what I’m adding and what other items I have but not currently using.

I’m using the RedSea Mix Reef Recipe which includes all of the standard
1) Calcium, Alkalinity, Magnesium, and the additional trace elements
2) The NO3-PO4-X Algae Management kit. (However I can’t seem to get the NO3 to drop even with weekly water changes and this product)
3) Coral Nutrition bottles A & B

I also have the following additives that I am not using yet because I’m not sure if any of the items I have above are the same thing. Should I be using this products as well?
1) Phyto-Feast
2) Oyster-Feast

My tank is my avatar pic.

Any help would be awesome!!! Thanks!!

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
) Phyto-Feast
2) Oyster-Feast
This is just food.
1) Calcium, Alkalinity, Magnesium,
The big 3 you need for stony corals.
and the additional trace elements
Undecided if we really need them, they should be in the salt
2) The NO3:pO4-X Algae Management kit.
Not familiar, nutrient control, your choice kinda. I dont use any of that.

Coral Nutrition bottles A & B
More foods.

Keepswiming

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You know that old saying K.I.S.S, do that. I would recommended only dosing your big three Ca, Alk, and Mg. Trace elements are just that, trace, and are replenished with biweekly water changes.

As for your nitrate issue, how long was your rock cured and/or tank setup?
What are your actual numbers?