Anemone Dead? Dying? Unsure.

Alec Meacham

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Guys, im fairly new to the hobby, about 2 and a half months in. I've had my anemone for about a week or so and everything has been great hes been doing well but when i came home today i think one of my rocks may have pinched it on the corner or something, because it wasnt attached to anything and wasnt facing the right direction. (Pic for reference) Is it dead? Dying? My salinity is at 1.025 and my water tests okay, coral is fine, fish are fine. just my anemone. Tentacles are still sticky, but he doesnt seem to want to attach to anything, and is much smaller than he usually is. Any advice would be appreciated.

thumbnail_IMG_0624.jpg

thumbnail_IMG_0625.jpg

Leslie Tabor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your tank is super new for having an anemone, so it may just not be established enough. It looks unhappy and to be moving. What type of anemone is this? Welcome to the hobby, it is great, but can be very frustrating.

JoshH

Tank Status: Wet...ish, growing things....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of lighting and flow do you have? Also what are your "good" parameters? As @Leslie Tabor has said, your system is VERY new and probably not ideal for a nem, almost looks like an LTA but hard to tell for sure...

@Amoo, #Reefsquad what do you think?

Leslie Tabor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of lighting and flow do you have? Also what are your "good" parameters? As @Leslie Tabor has said, your system is VERY new and probably not ideal for a nem, almost looks like an LTA but hard to tell for sure...

@Amoo, #Reefsquad what do you think?
I was guessing LTA as well, but wanted to confirm.

OP
OP
Alec Meacham

Alec Meacham

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0