Another introduction, this time from Rhode Island

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to your new home for saltwater reef aquarium resources and fun! Welcome to the family! :D
welcome-home-logo-greeting-png.1484246

ScubaShane

MENTAL REEF DISORDER!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

New to the forums, but totally new to the hobby. I used to have a 75gal fish only tank for about 4 years before I had to distribute the critters and break it down. Now I am looking to get back into the hobby and going a bit, okay a LOT, bigger than the 75gal I had before. You can see my idea for my new tank in the build thread I have created (tank design/idea). Would really appreciate any opinions/feedback on the design.

A bit about me -
Like I said not a total newb but have a lot to learn as I am wanting to build a mixed reef tank so corals are looking a bit scary. Initial interest/draw to the hobby is my experiences SCUBA diving and wanting to bring some of that beauty and experience 'home' with me. I doubt I will set up my tank(s) around any specific area, but rather just what I will enjoy seeing and watching.

I am an R&D engineer by profession and love to build/tinker with embedded systems, control systems, etc. I will be implementing some ideas of automating a lot of features on my system and will probably give some serious looking into the Reef-Pi system and see if it is for me and/or see if I can contribute to the design or end up spinning up my own system. I have a lot of experience with designing and interfacing to systems so feel free to contact/ask me for ideas/help in designing/interfacing/controlling some device or contraption you are thinking about.