Anyone here into African Cichlids?

Wy Renegade

Zs and Ps/PE collector
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
on the mbunas, one way to tell male/female is by the spots on there lower fin near the tail. these are egg spots used for mating.... [/url]

Actually thats one of those wives tails; I've been keeping mbunas for 20 years, and have plenty of females with egg spots on the anal fin. I've seen that same information in books as well, but its not anywhere close to accurate. I'd say that close to 50% of your females, if not more, will have eggs spots.

Here's a picture of the divider wall that I created; we epoxyied sand to the foam area on this was complete. For some reason I can't find my pictures of the finished product, but you get the idea.

TinaFoster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well it won't hold true in red zebras. Both sexes get egg spots. The majority of the ones I've kept you could tell this way, OR like in the case of yellow labs, it's never 100% as you can't see egg spots on them. Both sexes are bright, too. The experienced can tell by how much black marking is there--it's often thin with females thick with males. There's always venting them too--that's 100%.

OP
OP
S

SRT80

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm kind of thinkin' of a thinner rocky background on the back and sides. I might get some thicker styrofoam to make ledges and put artif. plants so fish can hide in. The rest I will do mounds of rock with caves. The vision in my head is lookin' awesome....but I'm not sure how the results will be. I might go pick up some foam tomorrow and start practicing I might even try to make several rock structures/caves out of the foam. Then I want have to deal with a lot of lace rock and havin' to stack. Maybe weight the foam structure down with slate rock.

For a filter, I'm thinkin' a canister and run one of those inline heaters so all the will be in the tank is the filter tubes.

Steve

TinaFoster