APEX Q: Heater settings when you have a temp controller

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
2,378
Location
Chicago
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie Q here. I am running my heater through a controller which is connected to an EB832. I'm letting the controller manage the temp, and having the Apex act as a backstop which will turn the heater off if it gets too warm. My question is on the "Fallback" command. Right now I'm using the following lines

Fallback OFF
Set ON

But my understanding is that "Fallback" is the default if the EB832 isn't communicating with the Apex Controller. Since I have a controller managing the heater, should this be "Fallback ON"?

Thanks in advance.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,217
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, use Fallback ON for a heater with its own thermostat.

Also, add a line to turn it off if the Apex detects it overheating, with a temperature a degree or two higher than the built in thermostat:

If Tmp > 80.0 Then OFF
 
OP
OP
M

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
2,378
Location
Chicago
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, use Fallback ON for a heater with its own thermostat.

Also, add a line to turn it off if the Apex detects it overheating, with a temperature a degree or two higher than the built in thermostat:

If Tmp > 80.0 Then OFF
Thanks @SuncrestReef my target temp is 79 (and it's been running +/- 0.5) so I've set the actual heater outlet as follows:

Fallback ON
Set ON
If Temp > 81.0 Then OFF
If Temp < 50.0 Then OFF
If Output Maintenance = ON Then OFF
If Output Emergency = ON Then OFF
Defer 001:30 Then ON

The Temp<50 Then OFF line is simply a trigger to let me know something's not making sense and could be my temp probe.

Would appreciate any thoughts you might have.
 

Mical

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
3,790
Reaction score
6,404
Location
Montrose
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could always add lines - your temp high & Low to email notifications

IE:
Under Emailalm_15
If Temp > 81 Then On
If Temp < 77 Then On
 
OP
OP
M

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
2,378
Location
Chicago
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could always add lines - your temp high & Low to email notifications

IE:
Under Emailalm_15
If Temp > 81 Then On
If Temp < 77 Then On
Thanks @Mical I thought that emails were sent automatically for Temp as long as I had the "alarm" selected on the "Inputs" page. But if that's not the case, then thanks for clearing up my misunderstanding and the suggestion.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,217
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks @Mical I thought that emails were sent automatically for Temp as long as I had the "alarm" selected on the "Inputs" page. But if that's not the case, then thanks for clearing up my misunderstanding and the suggestion.

Alarms can be defined either within the Input settings, or manually programmed within the EmailAlm programming. You have more flexibility and control if you use the manual alarm programming. See my tutorial on Apex Alarm Programming for more details, examples, and tips: https://www.reef2reef.com/ams/neptune-apex-programming-tutorials-part-6-alarms.707/
 

High pressure shells: Do you look for signs of stress in the invertebrates in your reef tank?

  • I regularly look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 36 31.3%
  • I occasionally look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 28 24.3%
  • I rarely look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 21 18.3%
  • I never look for signs of invertebrate stress in my reef tank.

    Votes: 30 26.1%
  • Other.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
Back
Top