Aquaforest Components 1+2+3+ to All for Reef?

Coling

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Fellow Reefers,

I have been mixing my own AF Components 1+2+3+ for a few years now and really liked it. However, Aquaforest kH is always sold out, and I love the idea of dosing all of my elements in one solution. I have a kH Guardian so can monitor alk like hawk, but my dosing line for my Component 2+ got clogged and my calcium dropped super low without me noticing (I only test calcium monthly or so). This further fueled my desire to switch over to All for Reef.

Can anyone who switched from Aquaforest to All for Reef share the quantities you dosed of each? The All for Reef is more than double the price/volume of solution, but I'm assuming it is stronger than the home-mixed Aquaforest components? I've read mixing your own is higher potency than the pre-mixed jugs, but not sure to what degree?
Anyways, I'm currently dosing about 130 mL/day of 1+2+3+ and would like to have a baseline for how much All for Reef to start dosing (I will still keep a close eye on the calcium levels during the transition).

Thanks for reading!

Cheers,

Colin

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I haven't switched from aquaforest but I do know how you can figure it out.

1. Use the powder. It is the same concentration as the liquid but MUCH cheaper.

2. Use the calculator on tropic marin's website page for all-for-reef. You will need to do a little math but you can figure out the amount of mL to match your current alk (or calcium) consumption. The calculator says something like x mL will raise your alk by 0.28KH per so many gallons/liters.

OP
OP
C

Coling

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The cost comparison was for the powder form of the All for Reef.