Are 3 AI Prime HDs enough for 48" 80 gal tank?

rknott

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About to pull the trigger on purchasing 3 AI Prime HDs for my 80 gallong 48 inch tank. My LFS recommended 3, but with an eye to getting multiple opinions I thought I would check in with the crowd here. I have read countless articles and forum posts, but finally giving up and posting a question for my specific application. I don't have grand illusions of growing some sort of fancy show tank. While having a 14g bio cube saltwater set up for the last 7 years, I am new to the 80 gallon space and am looking for a "basic" set up for my family room that will grow primarily inexpensive softies.

My main questions is, will 3 be enough? Should I be considering the hydra 26s? One of the selling points for me is the ability to upload lighting parameters from my LFS or or others given my lack of experience in the space. Are people finding this feature beneficial? Or should I be considering a less expensive solution.

RMS18

I keep water chemistry as my hobby
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
About to pull the trigger on purchasing 3 AI Prime HDs for my 80 gallong 48 inch tank. My LFS recommended 3, but with an eye to getting multiple opinions I thought I would check in with the crowd here. I have read countless articles and forum posts, but finally giving up and posting a question for my specific application. I don't have grand illusions of growing some sort of fancy show tank. While having a 14g bio cube saltwater set up for the last 7 years, I am new to the 80 gallon space and am looking for a "basic" set up for my family room that will grow primarily inexpensive softies.