Ash's 400 Gallon Reef

OP
Ashish Patel

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
That’s some great progress on the canopy. A couple things to keep in mind. Just double check the weight and balance so that when you fully extend the lights that it doesn’t tip over. You may have to attach it to the wall in the back. Also, I’d have the expectation that those slides will rust and need to be replaced wry few years. Cord management can be a creative task too so they don’t stoop down into the tank when you close it.
Thanks for the tips, I actually have the entire back of the canopy on a piece1x8 that is bolted into the stud. What I worry about is all the weight is on 2 points on the front and no weight on the back. Still i made it very light maybe 50LB total.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
OP
Ashish Patel

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
Originally got plywood and was going to use that but don't want to drill holes on the side of plywood so using these lightweight 1x8", Here you can see i am adding one piece.
20220226_125041.jpg
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
Ashish Patel

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
I just went to create a thread to sell or trade my gem tang and realized this forum monetized this section. I am pretty disaapointed in R2R since this hobbyist is already out of control in cost and not everyone can afford new gear. Not to mention vendor are paying a good amount too. If anyone knows someone who would take or trade this gem for SPS or other tangs let me know. I paid $400 for it on Saturday and its fully QT by one of the workers at TMS Aquatics. It is just too aggressive for me to put my achilles tang and zebrasomas at risk in the big tank. Stinks!
 

flagg37

Custom stair builder - TreeofLifeStairs.com
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
707
Reaction score
850
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Denver area
I just went to create a thread to sell or trade my gem tang and realized this forum monetized this section. I am pretty disaapointed in R2R since this hobbyist is already out of control in cost and not everyone can afford new gear. Not to mention vendor are paying a good amount too. If anyone knows someone who would take or trade this gem for SPS or other tangs let me know. I paid $400 for it on Saturday and its fully QT by one of the workers at TMS Aquatics. It is just too aggressive for me to put my achilles tang and zebrasomas at risk in the big tank. Stinks!
Have you tried to return it to TMS? Even if they’ll do store credit it may be worth it.
 
OP
Ashish Patel

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
Next are the G5’s right? Do you have a plan yet for how you’ll mount them?
I got 1.5" long screws that fit into the radions. Just going to cutt 2" planks and have it sit on both 1×8. Your right about the cord management. I may just have to unplug the t5 cords when pulling it out bc I don't have the slack to get creative. The issue will be when pushing in
 
Avast
OP
Ashish Patel

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
It’s just flowing over? Your system is new and looks really clean; maybe there’s just nothing to skim out?

Sometimes I go down and find few days of skimmate back in the water. if air is open too much it overflows quickly. I want to add more bubbles but can't but checked online it recommends 5-7" water line so just have to build a platform. its still pulling some stuff out and its a new system so maybe not too much nutrients to pull anyways. Having 500 gallon is much different then a 125 gallons (which is what i am used too), I think system will be easy once I figure out how to manage the water volume.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

Peninsula Reef Tanks...

  • I currently have one

    Votes: 22 19.8%
  • I used to have one set up

    Votes: 5 4.5%
  • I would like to try one in the future

    Votes: 61 55.0%
  • No interest

    Votes: 23 20.7%
Neptune
Top