Auto dosing question

Hawk23

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone!

Some background, I am still pretty new to the reefing community, my tank is roughly 4 months old. I have fish and some zoas in there that are all doing well. I was gifted a green slimer a few weeks back and had to upgrade my lighting because I really wanted it to survive. I also started dosing Calcium, Alk, and Magnesium. Been dosing just over a week trying to get the parameters within range. As of yesterday my Calcium was 385, Alk was 8.9 and Mag was 1,200.

My question is, what else do I need to worry about testing and dosing, and is an auto dosing method worth it? And which system would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for the help. I am open to any and all advice here, just happy to keep learning.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Autodosing is always worth it if cost is no concern.

Since that is not usually the case, it becomes worth it when needing to dose a lot based on the daily alkalinity drop.

There's little benefit if the daily alk drop is less than 0,3 dKH per day.

I don't think you need to monitor anything else at the moment, except possibly nutrients (nitrate and phosphate).

FWIW, I suspect your salinity is a bit low, hence the lowish calcium and magnesium.

OP
OP
Hawk23

Hawk23

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Autodosing is always worth it if cost is no concern.

Since that is not usually the case, it becomes worth it when needing to dose a lot based on the daily alkalinity drop.

There's little benefit if the daily alk drop is less than 0,3 dKH per day.

I don't think you need to monitor anything else at the moment, except possibly nutrients (nitrate and phosphate).

FWIW, I suspect your salinity is a bit low, hence the lowish calcium and magnesium.