Back in the day...

polyppal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
tenor (1).gif

Like many people here, I've been keeping marine tanks for many years. Talking to a friend/owner of a LFS, we reminisced about just how different some aspects of this hobby used to be (10-15 years ago)… What are some of the big changes you've seen around the hobby over the course of many years? Ill start:

When building a new reef tank (after a several year saltwater break), I was shocked to see how expensive fish had become! I remember in the early 2000s when you could buy Angelfish/Tangs/Anthias for half (or less) than what they cost now! As little as 5-6 years ago, you could get Blotchy Anthias for like $99! I remember buying a Copperband butterfly for $30 and Full size Lions were like $20-30 all day!

Or live rock! Remember -real- live rock!?!?!

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In the early 2000's I had several saltwater tanks with a few corals, but none that I would call a reef tank. I was then out of the hobby for about 15 years and when I started looking at fish for my current tank I though stores were insane for how much they wanted for a yellow tang. I remember my lfs always had them for about $25...of course that was almost 20 years ago.

sunken3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
tenor (1).gif

Like many people here, I've been keeping marine tanks for many years. Talking to a friend/owner of a LFS, we reminisced about just how different some aspects of this hobby used to be (10-15 years ago)… What are some of the big changes you've seen around the hobby over the course of many years? Ill start: