Bacteria Bloom (?)

larrythelobster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Noob here again

My water is slowly starting to get cloudy? I just want to make sure everything is fine from the community

When I turn off the flow a lot of the bigger white specs move and twich, but there are a lot a lot of white smaller particles that are starting to turn up.

Any idea on what they are? And how I can control this or slow it down? Ammonia is at zero

I don’t want to mess anything up, I’m so close to finally adding fish ):

5th week cycling my 30 gallon
2 peppermint shrimps
2 turbo snails
So far..

Canister filter with bio, floss and carbon
Surface skimmer

IMG_3576.jpeg

IMG_3577.jpeg

IMG_3578.jpeg

Last edited:

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Hi, Noob here again

My water is slowly starting to get cloudy? I just want to make sure everything is fine from the community

When I turn off the flow a lot of the bigger white specs move and twich, but there are a lot a lot of white smaller particles that are starting to turn up.

Any idea on what they are? And how I can control this or slow it down? Ammonia is at zero

I don’t want to mess anything up, I’m so close to finally adding fish ):

5th week cycling
2 peppermint shrimps
2 turbo snails
So far..

Canister filter with bio, floss and carbon
Surface skimmer
IMG_3576.jpeg

IMG_3577.jpeg

IMG_3578.jpeg
I suspect lack of filtration. Is this an all in one tank or standard tank with internal and hang-on filter?
With hang on filter, often you will have a situation where you have mechanical filtration but lack chemical and biological filtration which the HOF cannot keep up with suspended matter which in turn gives the system that milky/hazy appearance

OP
OP
L

larrythelobster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suspect lack of filtration. Is this an all in one tank or standard tank with internal and hang-on filter?