Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I’m brand new to reefing.

I was nuts about fish when I was a kid and spent a lot of time riding my bike to the LFS in my small town. I kept a 10 gallon in my bedroom with the typical population of guppies, swordtails, tetras, and mollies.

One of the first things I did after starting my first high-school job, was setup a 29-gallon saltwater tank which I ran with limited success for a couple of years before I moved to Portland to go to college.

Fishkeeping went on hold for a long-time while I was in the Navy. After I left active duty, and my wife and I bought our home on Bainbridge Island, she gifted me a 10-gallon tank and I did run that as a freshwater tank for a few years, but the space for the tank disappeared during a remodel and I never found the space in our home for another tank.

Fast-forward 20 years, and I have not lost the bug for a saltwater tank, and I’m ready to make it happen. I have always been taken by the beauty and color of tropical marine fish and until recently that was my end goal.

I have enjoyed corals on my occasional warm water dives, but I really didn’t understand until recently that reef tanks are a thing. I’m blown away the beautiful environments that you all have created in tanks both large and small.

After a lot of research, I’ve decided to take the plunge and setup a mixed LPS/SPS reef tank. I know this is going to be a long-term commitment that requires discipline and a big dip into my savings account. I also expect some setbacks and frustration, but I’m all in!

So here is the system plan for my first reef. I'm posting it here mostly to help me remember but if your interested, read on. All feedback welcome. I do have some specific areas I'd like feedback on and I'll post those questions in appropriate threads.

Tank Goals​

• A fish friendly mixed LPS/SPS (70/30) tank with a lot of color and motion.