Bali Slimer issue

Umair

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dear Reefers,

I'm fairly new to sps world so please be kind and patient :)

Attached bali slimer frag i added some 5-6 months before and although has not shown great growth but PE have always been nice. One new branch started growing recently also. Meanwhile about 2 months before added some more frags which included a large size bali slimer frag or maybe colony as it had about 8-9 branches. All frags and the attached frag i got from the same local reefer.

Since last one week i have noticed both of my bali slimers had good polyp extension on the front but on the back all polyps were closed. Parameters have been ok in my opinion nitrates always at 10 ppm, PO4 ranging between 0.02-0.06, ALK 7.5-8.0, CAL 425-440, MG remains between 1380-1420. Only change i can think of is i put redsea top net cover about one week ago.

So can anyone see any pests in the photo or the frag simply seems disturbed?

TIA

2.jpeg WhatsApp Image 2019-10-11 at 17.57.38.jpeg 3.jpeg 4.jpeg

vpoiu1263

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Could be AEFW.
I think the bottom is its egg.
And on the white part of the acropora you can hardly see is aefw .

C. Eymann

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Those things to the left of the base look like vermetid snails, (snot snails) their mucus net can be irritating to coral and could be contributing to the issue here. I dont see any AEFW ? but adults are near impossible to see against flesh only a dip will knock them off to be able to confirm they are there, but the tissue recession doesn't match up with bite marks IMO, my money is on its due to those vermetid snails.

just my .02

OP
OP
U

Umair

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0