Benno's Red Sea Max Nano

benno841

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I set up my Red Sea Max Nano about a year ago (in 2022) and thought I would finally start a build thread to keep track of its progress and to create another outlet for this hobby so I don't bore the wife anymore.

I was brand new to the hobby, my dad had Tropical Freshwater tanks whilst I was growing up but other then that this is my first tank, so please go easy on me I am still learning.

Recent Photo(s)
DSC_0183.JPG

Current Equipment
Red Sea Reef LED 50
NooPsyche k7 v3
Red Sea Reef Dose 4
Red Sea ATO+
Aquel 150W heater + Inkbird
Skimmer supplied with the Red Sea Max Nano
Jecod SOW-4
Jecod MCP-90
Jecod SOW-8

Currently Dosing
AquaForest Component 123+
Phyto (every other day)
Red Sea AB+ (once per week)
Red Sea NO:pOX
Weekly water changes (10%) using AquaForest Reef Salt

Current Stocking
2x Clownfish (1x Percula and 1x Occelaris I believe)
Springer Damsel
Yellow Watchman Goby
Tiger Pistol Shrimp
Mandarin (tank bred and happily eating TDO chromaboost pellets)

It all started September 2022 with the tank arriving and the rock scape being built. It went through a few iterations:

received_1323559991785384.jpeg

received_1190042294885501.jpeg

received_1502883656791297.jpeg

But I settled on this design, trying to find inspiration BRV TVs NSA videos.

received_810588426958569.jpeg

received_396439375994589.jpeg

received_799088767905203.jpeg

Excitedly, I then added a bottle of bacteria and a pair of juvenile Occelaris clowns from my LFS.

Around the same time, I added another section at the front to create space ready for a "micromusa island".

I had also added the frogspawn and hammer coral (RIP, I accidentally dropped my Syphon on it which ripped a lot of the flesh from the skeleton) which can be seen on the right.

received_512705194207639.jpeg

Unfortunately, the clownfish became riddled with Ich.

received_5393760754079367.jpeg

received_442719504675033.jpeg