Best lighting for a 6 gallon zoa pico?

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I'm new to keeping zoa's but not new to reefing. I'm in the process of setting up a small aio with the main goal of making it into a crazy zoa garden. For various reasons I have avoided them in my larger tank, and I'm excited about trying them in a dedicated system.

I'm considering lightning options. My impression is that blue LEDs (and maybe some good Photoshop skills) are needed to really make zoa colors pop.

Would a kessil a80 tuna blue do the trick? This is a small tank and I would love to minimize the crazy spill over of light.

Is this sufficient/good, or would I be better off with something else?

OP
OP
C

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If I stick with kessil, is a80 enough, or do I need to go to the 160? I don't plan to keep anything other than zoas but I don't love it when they have to stretch for the light.

saltybees

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If I stick with kessil, is a80 enough, or do I need to go to the 160? I don't plan to keep anything other than zoas but I don't love it when they have to stretch for the light.
How deep is the tank? I’m sure an 80 would work but I've never personally used a kessil. Different zoos want less/more light so it’s really a placement game as long as the light can reach the bottom.

OP
OP
C

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How deep is the tank? I’m sure an 80 would work but I've never personally used a kessil. Different zoos want less/more light so it’s really a placement game as long as the light can reach the bottom.
It's about 12- 13 inches deep ( I think).

OP
OP
C

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Or a $60 nicrew 30w light from Amazon. No need to drop $200 on ai prime.