best two part to use with kalk

Key Largo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I believe this is a chemistry question. 135 gal. mixed reef. I have been using kalk on a doser (ATO separate) for a couple of years. BRS pharma grade to be exact. As my alk consumption has increased, I have dosed more kalk throught the day as needed. (I use a constant drip on a Versa doser). Although I still have leeway with the amount of Kalk I dose relative to my top off, I would like to plan for the time when my demand outstrips what I can dose. I plan to supplement with 2 part. My question: is there a preferred brand or formulation of two part that works better in conjunction with kalk than another? One that might be more chemically or otherwise compatible with kalkwasser? This question came to mind when purchasing BRS magnesium. They recommend a certain type mixture for tanks that use kalk. I have not been able to find any such recommendations for the use of 2 part and Kalk. Secondly, the instructions for the BRS pharma kalk say to increase the amount of kalk to water as demand increases. I find that even at the lowest recommended mixture (1/2 tsp per gallon) that the solution is already saturated. I think so anyway, based on pH of solution. There is always some residue. Is adding more kalk to water able to 'oversaturate'? or how does that work? Thanks

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With the exception of how much it impacts pH (some two parts raise it as much as kalkwasser, some less, and some lower it), there no other aspect of a two part that makes one play better with kalkwasser dosing than others.

Are you wanting more pH boost?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0