Building a custom set up or buying an all in one

Jesse Evans

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I am new to the saltwater aquarium world and I’m looking for some advice on setting up a new tank.

I have a $10,000 budget.
Glass tank, not acrylic.
I want corals and fish.
Space isn’t an issue.

I was looking at the Red Sea max s 650, and truthfully I almost bought it but I feel like it’s a tad on the spendy side. It looks like some really high quality stuff but it’s seems as though I could “build” a larger and more custom set up for less $$$. One thing that I really liked about it was the low iron glass.

One of my other hobbies is fine woodworking so building a stand is a possibility.

Readyyyyyyyy, GO!

Thanks;)

TheEngineer

Formerly icecool2
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Let’s start with how big of a tank you want and build from there. Prices of custom tanks can be pretty crazy even for small ones. Personally I’d rather put money into the inhabitants and not the glass around them :)

Antics

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Your budget is pretty insane for people just getting into the hobby compared to the average reefer so it might be worth considering how interested you really are. 10 grand sounds like a lot but you can easily blow through that on a non custom tank depending on what kind of equipment you want to use.

Larger is not always better, especially if you're not looking forward to the increased costs with size - namely more lights, powerheads, larger return pumps, more sand and live rock, etc.

I think the 5 and 6 foot reefers are excellent for their price and I'd really consider one of them over the S series or going fully custom on a first time tank. I could go through 7 or 8k on a 750 reefer before even getting to live stock for example. Equipment and redundancy is the expensive part of this hobby.

Ruben's Reef

Ruben's Reef