Burnt tips or do I have a nipper?

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm still new to sps and have not experienced burnt tips as my alk has been rock solid at 8.3. I noticed some of the tips on my garf bonsai are a white while all the other pieces are fine. I suspect the pretty guy in the background but have not seen it yet. Only other fish are a yellow tang, bristle tooth tang, six line and a tail spot blenny so I don't suspect them. Those of you with more experience does this look like a fish is nipping this piece. I don't want to remove the angel but I will if it's nipping. PXL_20240127_224621283.jpg

ScottB

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I see a flame angel...

But personally I would let it ride for a while. He will figure out the lack of nutrient that nipping provides. Feed more and give him some film algae that is more nutrient dense.

OP
OP
exnisstech

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I see a flame angel...

But personally I would let it ride for a while. He will figure out the lack of nutrient that nipping provides. Feed more and give him some film algae that is more nutrient dense.
The angel has been in for 10 months. He and the two tangs graze the rocks all day and I normally feed 4-5 times a day. PE mysis mixed with rods and a few drops of selcon and vitachem added. Also some high quality pellets in between as snacks. But the last 3 days I've been busy and haven't fed like I normally do. It's most likely the angel and since he picked a coral I have growing in every tank I have I'll give him a pass. Thanks

djf91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Definitely burnt tips. Centropyge don’t strip skin when they nip.

OP
OP
exnisstech

exnisstech

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0