Calcium & Magnesium

Sharkbiter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has anyone ever had your tank not use calcium & magnesium. My calcium Is 530 and magnesium Is 1610. I have not done a water change in 2 weeks and it's not going down. Last time I did a water change my calcium was 510 and magnesium was 1600 before I did the water chance. Instead of going down it's going up??? Alkalinity is 8.35 dkh. Any ideas would be great I have mostly zoa's but have some hammers, and frogspawns, also have some gloves and xenia. Everything is growing and doing great well accept my candy cane that I just added to my tank a week ago. My tank is fairly new started it first of June, it's starting to show some purple coralline algae finally. is everything as it should be? I'm kind of new to corals, I've had fowlr tanks but this is my first time with corals.

fishroomlady

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
far from an expert here but I'd be sure on the results (what test kit?) and have you checked the results against another test or had your LFS check to compare? What type of salt are you using? based on what you have, I would expect to see some usage of calcium and magnesium.

mike007

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your salt mix could be raising your levels when you are doing a water change. Your tank Is probably not consuming these elements fast enough to notice a decrease.What salt mix are you using?

Tek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Switch to regular Instant Ocean. Your tank is not requiring enough to use the more expensive salts with higher parameters.

The only time my tank stopped using CA was after a crash but ALK was dropping fast when it started to recover. It was a mknth after before CA started dropping 10ppm a day but then again I keep mostly SPS.

OP
OP
S

Sharkbiter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0