Calcium Reactor Media

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am completely new to calcium reactors but I have been gathering stuff to set one up. I have almost everything I need but I realized I accidentally bought the little reborn media. Should I just use it or go ahead and get a bag of the bigger size? If I do need to get the bigger size is there a problem with mixing the sizes so I use half of each size.
I also have some old coral skeleton that I have been keeping. Some of it was corals that died and others were fast growing corals that needed cut back. If I want to use them in the reactor do I need to do anything to them first other than breaking them into appropriated sized pieces. I am sure some of them have some dried up algae on it.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The goal is to have aragonite dissolve in the chamber. Size is interesting, because even if you start with boulders as they dissolve eventually they become smaller, and turn to dust. Too much CO2 in the chamber can turn the media to mush, and again it all becomes dissolved Calcium and Carbonate (I think, RFH is more reliable for chemical equations).

I have heard that using tank recycled frag skeletons isn't good, as many tanks lack the natural elemental solution to provide with proper skeleton depositions, and the theory was that constantly recycling these weak skeletons would create problems, where others denied this was even possible and swore/sware that they use recycled skeletons without issue.

I don't know, but I have used reborn (old chunky version) and modern reborn and the other rocks made for reactors (the other brand dissolves at a slightly lower pH) and if the reactor is properly set up the media doesn't seem to matter, ime.