Calling all Plumbers! Sump pump question

ihavecrabs

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I am in an area where the water table rises above the basement level often. During rain storms it is not uncommon to have the sump pump running every 30 seconds until the water table lowers.

Spring and summer it runs often (every 5 min or so) if there is not heavy rains.

Winter barely runs unless we have a melt.

I have a submersible pump as the main and a pedestal pump as a secondary (I assume if the main can't keep up, shuts down due to heat, or dies)

I can't find any details on using a pedestal as a backup to a submersible. Is this not normal?

I believe the pedestal doesn't work... It sounds rough and I don't hear water moving. I would like to replace it but want to know if it is worth going that route.

Thoughts?

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not a Mechanical Engineer or Plumber, but I do have an opinion. If my sump pump is coming on with that frequency, I'd want a back up or if anything, an assist if ejection can't be kept up by the sump pump alone. I would think a pedestal pump would be an ideal backup because the float is easily modified at a higher water level.

The other thing I'd do (if not already there) is install a one-way valve (check valve) in the pipe....down low. This allows maximum ejection of the sump hole by not allowing back flow of water once the pump shuts off. The pump won't run as frequently. Get one that has true unions so that it can easily be removed for cleaning or replacement.

Last edited:

Charterreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0