Can you see a "grid pattern" from them mesh of your lid?

Lord_Mort

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This may seem like a dumb question, I get it... However, I would like to understand this phenomenon before dropping a couple hundred bucks on a lid.

I have a Fluval Evo which is a 13gal Nano. I'm running an AI Prime which I recently purchased so I am new to being "topless".

I need to add a couple utilitarian fish so I figured I'd better get a lid. I'm leaning towards the Kraken but I have a concern... I've seen a "grid pattern" in a tank from a YouTuber which is clearly a shadow from the mesh of the lid. I do NOT care for this look so I would liketo better understand why I see it in some tanks but not others.

Anyone familiar with this?

A_Blind_Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I never noticed any in the past. I found the white slash clear netting from RS to be too reflective for my liking, personal opinion. I had great luck with the black mesh from brs. The only thing I noticed was a slight shadow in the center of my tank as I made a two piece, split top to make it easier to open up. The shadow on mine was from the frame pieces and not the mesh itself. Don’t know if that helps you out

Zach B

Noo-Psyche Sales Rep
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
+1, not visible

OP
OP
Lord_Mort

Lord_Mort

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just so ya'll don't think I'm crazy.... (picky maybe, but not crazy) =)
1672154852003.png

DeniseAndy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Weird. I have never noticed a pattern on any of my tanks. I have used egg crate only, egg crate with the clear mesh and just clear mesh with frame border.
Maybe it only shows with the lower light?

Beau_B

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just so ya'll don't think I'm crazy.... (picky maybe, but not crazy) =)
1672154852003.png