Cant decide what LEDs to use with my halides.

Enderg60

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im setting up a new 330g tank 84x30x30. I am going to use 3x400w halides with lumenbright reflectors. I plan to use some LED's to provide more even coverage and supplement the color. On my old 300g I did this with some DIY LED's so Im totally new to buying actual LED's with features.....

The plan is to use the LED's to provide LPS levels of light throughout the entire tank for a few hours in the AM and PM. Then use the halides for 6-8 hours a day for SPS level lighting, while using the LED's in blue mode to supplement the halides.

The closest I can find to my old setup would be using some reefbrite XHO stips. I would need two 6 foot actinics and two 6 foot 50/50's. This would be the easiest and cheapest to implement at about $1800.

My other option is an array of 8 small LED pucks placed around the halides. This would allow me to individually aim the LED's, and get better spectrum and color control.

I currently use illumagic blaze x lights with the halides on my frag tank so I was considering using the mini's or just jumping off the deep end and getting radion XR15's.

So option 1 : Reefbrite strips - $1800
Option 2 : Blaze x mini - $1840
Option 3 : Radion XR15 - $4000

Any advice?

Montiman

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would go reefbrites they are one of the best as far as even coverage and spectrum blending is concerned and this sounds like what is most important to you.

Nate Chalk

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im setting up a new 330g tank 84x30x30. I am going to use 3x400w halides with lumenbright reflectors. I plan to use some LED's to provide more even coverage and supplement the color. On my old 300g I did this with some DIY LED's so Im totally new to buying actual LED's with features.....