Can't decide whether to abandon LEDs

Ocelaris

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not terribly happy with the Maxspect Razor 320w 16K 4' light that I inherited when I bought the tank (it's on a 5' tank). I haven't had a ton of different lights to compare it to, so just not sure I want to sell it and go with a T5 fixture. I'm just getting started with the tank ~9 months and only have a few SPS, (seriatapora, stylophora and an unknown brown acro). The easier SPS are growing pretty well, but I bleached them out once accidentally with turning the lights up too much. Also I'm not confident in the "spread", I heard everyone talk about shadowing with LEDs, and it seems like the interior of the frags are somewhat bleached, so I don't know if I'm over thinking it or just make the plunge and go to T5s. I like the shimmer of the LEDs, but I like a more "full spectrum" look; back in the day I had 10,000k Metal Halides + Actinics and loved the color. Now everything seems to be blue, bluer, or bluest.
I have a 110 gallon, 60" Wide x 18" deep x 24" tall, not my favorite dimensions; but good first tank after being out of the hobby for 15 years. I'm looking at the 6 bulb ATI sunpower fixture, the LED combo version is way too expensive for my tastes. At that point I'd just do a retrofit Metal Halide + T5.

Anyone else go T5 from LED and regret it?

gacolt

JEEP STUFF
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a big fan of t5 and metal halide light.i have tried many LEDs and always end up selling them.to me LEDs suck I would rather run power compact.if I had your tank I would run a 5' Ati fixture or 2x 400w mh w/ t5 supplement.

OP
OP
Ocelaris

Ocelaris

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0