Center glass brace replace or not?

rpkneumann

Texas Reefer since 2020
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m restoring an old 150 gallon Oceanic tank and tried cleaning a gigantic glass center brace which is completely calcified. 20 years of Texas water.
I threw every legal cleaning agent on the glass but the final advice from a local glass store was to give up and replace.

My head is spinning after researching literally 100s of Internet opinions , YouTube videos of what todo about replacing top bracing. Some say don’t try to replace the center brace it will always fail. Others say replace it with Aluminium braces at least 2 inches wide and some say 1/2 inch glass is thick enough to run rimless. Some even suggest to install eurobracing instead.

I’m an engineer and believe that the manufacturer had good reasons and sound calculations to install a 14 inch wide 1/2 thick center brace in this 48x24x30 tank.

Seems to me that the only sound option would be trying to replace the glass with the exact same size and location.

Current glass prices would make this a $240 item plus hours of silicon cleaning.

Has anybody replaced this type of center brace successfully?
What are the pitfalls and what would I need to avoid?

Didn’t come across instructions on how todo this successfully.

Any advice ?

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the same tank. Used for many years as a display, now serves as my sump. Did you try a very sharp single edge razor?

My solution was to grind a hole in the brace to allow a kessil 360 to shine through.

OP
OP
rpkneumann

rpkneumann

Texas Reefer since 2020
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, tried sharp razors, hard and soft scrapers. Scrubbers and a ton of elbow grease.
The glass people told me the only way to get calcium which has eaten itself that deep would be polishing the glass with a glass planar machine.
Would mean I cut it out.