Chemi-pure Blue Alternative Carbon?

borrowedthemoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey coral friends,

My aquarium is a reef tank with fish that I have been using chemi-pure blue on for roughly 6 months, along with phosguard.

I am looking for the best alternative to chemi-pure blue; one that I can fill my own filter media bags with. All price points are welcomed.

Thanks for the help!

**I know what chemi-pure elite is, but just am looking for the carbon alternative**

Last edited:
OP
OP
borrowedthemoon

borrowedthemoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if I understand the question.
There are lots of different size media bags available and many different carbon products.

FWIW, I use this ROX carbon:

Rox 0.8 Carbon

...in these media bags and just keep re-using the bags with new zip ties:

Boyd Media Bags
I rephrased the question. I see where it could have been misleading. I have been doing some research and I see a lot of people recommending ROX carbon. Thanks for your input.

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Blue can essentially be made with rox carbon + purigen. I would just get quality carbon. Rox carbon should be in a reactor imo but you can use rox, seachem matrix carbon, red sea reef spec carbon, or others.

flashsmith

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use the cheap and reliable marineland carbon. I've used all types though. I mean it's carbon so to me as long as it's not too dusty I'm fine with whatever is cost effective. I can't see paying a premium for "super carbon" or whatever it is to just throw it out every 2 weeks.

OP
OP
borrowedthemoon

borrowedthemoon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0