Chemistry of Macro

Subsea

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a marine engineer and a reef hobbiest since 1971. I have been fascinated with using decorative and utilitarian macro algae (seaweed) in my display tanks and refugiums. One year ago, I removed macro from 25 year old mud/macro refugium and seeded with cryptic sponges. During this same period, I dosed vinegar to grow bacteria to feed the microbial loop. As in many things, balance is the key. When you can’t easily measure your results, bioindicators become test results. I now have flame scallops & sea apple in display and three differrent NPS in cryptic refugium:Chilli Coral and two deep water gorgonions.

In reading Steve Tyree ebooks on cryptic zone filtration, I will discribe a generalization that helps me to see the big picture. I hope my chmistry terminology is correct. Seaweeds favorite source of carbon comes from carbon dioxide solubility in water and if given everything it needs its composition will seek a steady state number of 560:30:1 of carbon:nitrogen:phosphate. Depending on macro the N:p ratio can easily vary between 80:1 & 10:1.

Because macro algae is a sponge, it can absorb trace minerals and store excess minerals to be used during times of lean. I first read this in an article written by @Randy Holmes-Farley on iron dosing in reef tanks. When dosing iron into Gracilaria Hayi tumble culture, dark red color change happened overnight with extra growth that was like flotation bladders along main stem developing during the next seven days. Iron storage bladders receded over the next few weeks.