Citric Acid dosing as a carbon source?

Courtney Aldrich

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience, but found citric acid has been explored as a carbon source in wastewater treatment for reducing phosphate (see attached paper). Citric acid stimulates production of polyphosphate in certain bacteria by enhancing ATP levels through the citric acid cycle in respiration. It might be worth experimenting.

Attachments

• BiochemEngJ2015_Citric acid carbon source for phosphorous removal.pdf
    1.2 MB · Views: 104

EuphylliaAddict

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It would be nice to see brstv do a deep dive on this one... We already use citric acid for cleaning pumps and power heads, why not a drop or 2 a day in the tank to lower po4 naturally... It would be cool to see it be a topic in the future.

OP
OP
arking_mark

arking_mark

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Interestingly, citric acid raises the alkalinity, which is counterintuitive. However, consumption of protons would occur if the bacteria make polyphosphate,

I have no experience, but found citric acid has been explored as a carbon source in wastewater treatment for reducing phosphate (see attached paper). Citric acid stimulates production of polyphosphate in certain bacteria by enhancing ATP levels through the citric acid cycle in respiration. It might be worth experimenting.

So I recall a Dr. Tims lecture on the different heterotrophs and that the bacteria used in wastewater were not the right ones for saltwater. So these wastewater studies can't always be applied to saltwater aquariums.

Courtney Aldrich

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I recall a Dr. Tims lecture on the different heterotrophs and that the bacteria used in wastewater were not the right ones for saltwater. So these wastewater studies can't always be applied to saltwater aquariums.