Clean up crew with eel.

aviationreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sum up i am fairly new to reef keeping and have a 60 cube but have been enjoying it and plan to upgrade when i have a full time job/steady living conditions. I am doing early planning on what i will keep in my larger system so i can have it fully and perfectly designed and planned.

Looking at either a snowflake or Zebra eel. If i got one what clean up crew could i use? all of my hermits and my cleaner shrimp would not last i imagine. Would i have to get urchins? sea hares?

joshbbert

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I keep mine with snails a skunk cleaner 2pom poms a conch and a Halloween hermit so far no casualties however I keep her very well fed she gets LRS chunky 2 times a day. She nipped at a clown once that got too close at feeding time but missed other than that a model citizen.

joshbbert

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also that's not to say that all eels are the same and mine very well may kill something down the road but for the last 6 months or so she's behaved

ice fish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not really a fan of snowflake eel's as they get pretty aggressive as they get older. Ive had my zebra for a year now and he is nothing but a model citizen (Except for my trachy that he loves to tick off and slither over) Ive never had issues with him eating smaller inverts or larger ones. Unless the eel isnt fed and satisfied i dont see them wasting time on eating any of your inverts. Granted you'll have to train them off live foods but after that it should be no worries.

OP
OP
aviationreef

aviationreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmm i currently have 2 clowns, a firefish, a diamond back goby, a cleaner shrimp, emerald crab, several snails and hermits.

Would prefer to be able to keep everything when i upgraded, would any of these be an issue with a zebra?

ice fish

View Badges