Clownfish Help

MurphTech

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Reef2Reef Friends.

I am new to the hobby. I have done some research on a few separate occasions about getting a salt water tank but last week the opportunity to jump in feet first presented itself when the wife and I took our 2 year old daughter to a LFS a few blocks away.

The ladies really liked the fish and I had bugged the wife in the past about getting a tank but for whatever reason that day seemed to be the one where she said "let's do it but I am not paying for it and I want to pick the decorations." Terms that I could agree with at the moment.

So the ladies left and I spent about 2 hours in discussion with very patient sales people trying to be sure I knew what I was getting into and making sure that what I was going to purchase was the correct equipment. I ended up with a 29G tank, 6lbs of live rock, 5lbs of dry rock(?), a bag of live sand, an over-sized filter and some other necessities.

I got the tank all set by that evening, had the salt dialed in after 24 hours, and I went back to the LFS to see if I was cleared for some clown fish. They did a water quality test and gave me the thumbs up and I walked out of there with "Arthur" and "Molly".

A day later (Saturday) everything seemed fine except the HOB filter was really noisy and sounded defective. It was a rattle that just did not sound natural for a pump. So I took a video of the pump and took another trip to the LFS to see what the return policy was. They heard the video and said bring it back. I asked about a canister filter after spending some time on Google the night before and upgraded to a Fluval 206.