CO2 and DI resin depletion

Bladezz

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2022
Messages
241
Reaction score
225
Location
Joplin, Missouri
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
**Correction - I'm referring to my Anion resin.**

I have high CO2 in my well water which kills my DI resin. Research says aerating the source water will gass off the CO2.

Is anyone doing this? Wht does your system look like?


1/3 of my DI resin is burnt to create about 30 gallons of RO water.

Screenshot_20231015_085105_Gallery.jpg
 
Last edited:

Velcro

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
3,128
Reaction score
3,011
Location
Kalamazoo, MI
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, I deal with this. I pump the RO water to a dedicated barrel which has an airstone in it. Ideally just have this barrel above the final RODI barrel and let gravity run it through the resin after a day or so of aeration.
 
OP
OP
Bladezz

Bladezz

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2022
Messages
241
Reaction score
225
Location
Joplin, Missouri
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, I deal with this. I pump the RO water to a dedicated barrel which has an airstone in it. Ideally just have this barrel above the final RODI barrel and let gravity run it through the resin after a day or so of aeration.
Interesting idea. How often do you have to change resins?
 

Baronen

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2020
Messages
257
Reaction score
85
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The other resins in my system are fine it's just the Anion resin that burns up fast.
Ahh. Yeah mine goes kinda quickly. But at least it’s just the anion. I think replacing it often is a lot easier than dealing with a mixing station for off gassing.
 

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,034
Reaction score
3,932
Location
MHK
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use a degassing chamber then pump thru mi DI system. I replace my anion about every 500 gallons.

IMG_2863.JPG
 
Last edited:

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
4,034
Reaction score
3,932
Location
MHK
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water from my membrane flows into the degassing chamber at the bottom there is an air stone in the bottom also. The water overflows into the 5 gallon jug and I have a high/low tank controller that turns on a Tunze ATO pump to pump into the DI.
 
OP
OP
Bladezz

Bladezz

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 26, 2022
Messages
241
Reaction score
225
Location
Joplin, Missouri
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water from my membrane flows into the degassing chamber at the bottom there is an air stone in the bottom also. The water overflows into the 5 gallon jug and I have a high/low tank controller that turns on a Tunze ATO pump to pump into the DI.
Cool!

If I understand this correctly. We don't need a high pressure pump to push water through the resin beds.
 

Purple rock rocks! Do you have coralline algae in your tank right now?

  • My tank is overrun with coralline algae.

    Votes: 15 9.3%
  • I have a manageable amount of coralline algae right now.

    Votes: 63 39.1%
  • I have just a bit of coralline algae right now.

    Votes: 54 33.5%
  • I have had coralline in the past, but not currently.

    Votes: 17 10.6%
  • I have never had coralline algae in my tank.

    Votes: 10 6.2%
  • Other.

    Votes: 2 1.2%
Back
Top