Concered GHA, now for cyano.....

flatreefer

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
100
Reaction score
22
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
Hello

So I had a big bloom of GHA, I managed to get it under control by removing it by hand and controlling nutrients,

Now I have cyano..... :(

Initially I had thought that because my nitrate is at 2.5-5ppm and phosphate is 0-0.03ppm(can't tell with sailifert)
That I needed to dose some phosphate to get my tank balanced properly

So I have been dosing it and I have noticed just more algea on the glass and more cyano

Parameters
Salt 1.026
Alk 8.3dkh
Cal 425ppm
Mag 1320ppm

Nitrate 2.5-5
Phosphate 0-0.03ppm

Tank was set up on May 1st 2021 bare bottom
20210729_181457.jpg
20210729_181518.jpg
20210729_181621.jpg
 
Lazy's Coral House

terraincognita

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1,993
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
IMPO you're doing just fine.

Don't sweat the uglies.

ESPECIALLY in a barebottom, you're tank is still establishing it's overall natural biofilter. This is gonna go on probably for the first 7 months to a year. You'll be "fighting" uglies.

Just keep doing what you're doing.

Re: the Cyano, suck it out and let it be.

IF it gets OUT OF CONTROL everywhere and is smothering corals.

Try these best brand IMO.


Your phosphates are probably high too.

Doing drastic things can make everything so much worse.
 
OP
F

flatreefer

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
100
Reaction score
22
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
Do you think my Phosphates would be high and give me a 0- 0.03 pmm reading? I have chemi pure blue media bag I could throw in?

Also bought a hanna phosphate checker used, my dummy didn't realize that it was the high range one and all the reagents are expired so I can't use it at the moment lol
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

terraincognita

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
1,993
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
Do you think my Phosphates would be high and give me a 0- 0.03 pmm reading? I have chemi pure blue media bag I could throw in?

Also bought a hanna phosphate checker used, my dummy didn't realize that it was the high range one and all the reagents are expired so I can't use it at the moment lol
No sorry missed your readings.

IF that's the reading then that's the reading.

Normally cyano and high phosphates can be found at the same time though for sure. not a necessity.
 

IS RTN/STN MORE COMMON THAN IT USED TO BE?

  • Yes! I (and/or my friends) have experienced it more than it used happen.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No. I think it's about the same.

    Votes: 10 50.0%
  • No. It's actually less common than it used to be.

    Votes: 1 5.0%
  • I've never experienced RTN/STN.

    Votes: 2 10.0%
  • What's RTN/STN?

    Votes: 7 35.0%
Chaos Aquaculture
Top