Control Heaters w/ Apex or Heater Controllers?

Desert Darthead

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here to aquarium controllers and after reading several threads here and Neptune forum, seems like differing opinions on how to use Apex to control heaters. Apex as primary or heater controllers as primary? For a 200 gallon tank, was thinking the following.

Primary heater system:
- BRS controller with 2, 300 watt titanium heaters
- Each heater set to same temp so neither is really primary or secondary and they both are on half as much time if only used one 600 watt
- Controller plugged into EB832 with Apex providing second level control at 2-3 deg higher to kill outlet

Secondary Heater system:
- Separate BRS controller with 1, 300 watt titanium heater
- Controller temp set 2-3 degrees lower to come on if primary allowing tank to get too cold
- Controller plugged into separate EB832 and on separate circuit in house with Apex providing second level control at 2-3 deg higher to kill outlet

Plan to rotate the three heaters every 4 months so each heater is redundant backup 4 months a year and not running - should prolong life of all 3 heaters.

Does this setup make sense or smarter way to do this with better redundancy and control?

Ippyroy

Defeater of Dinos
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you use the Apex, you will kill the expensive EB8 32 by having it cycle on and off all the time. Use the controller and use the Apex as a back up.
Set controller to turn on at 78 and at .3 degree
Plug into Apex
Set Apex on at 75
Hope this helps

OP
OP
D

Desert Darthead

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you use the Apex, you will kill the expensive EB8 32 by having it cycle on and off all the time. Use the controller and use the Apex as a back up.
Set controller to turn on at 78 and at .3 degree
Plug into Apex
Set Apex on at 75
Hope this helps