Coral for identification

zxcs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! Can anyone please identify this coral for me? It came as a hitchhiker with some Zoas and seems to be doing really well. There were just two small polyps about six weeks ago, they have greatly increased in size since with lots of new polyps growing around them. I'm new to keeping coral and not very good at identifying them. I feel like it's something common and I've seen it before but after lots of online searching I couldn't find anything that looks similar. Initially I thought it was a duncan but not anymore.

If you know what it is - should I let it remain on the same rock as my Zoa colony or will it eventually kill them? The option for separating them would be to break the rock in half.

Thanks!

20230617_202749.jpg

Cheezle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They remind me of the captain jerk palys that are all over my LFS frag tank. Got any more pics of them?

DeniseAndy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Palythoa. If they are brownish and may glow slightly green under blue lights, get rid of them. They are very aggressive and invasive. Also, be very careful when getting rid of them. Use gloves, mask, goggles, and do not have open cuts. These guys are toxic.

OP
OP
zxcs

zxcs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Palythoa. If they are brownish and may glow slightly green under blue lights, get rid of them. They are very aggressive and invasive. Also, be very careful when getting rid of them. Use gloves, mask, goggles, and do not have open cuts. These guys are toxic.

Thank you! They are exactly as you described, brown under normal light and glowing green under actinic light.