coral/invert QT Idea

Fishyfish22

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
I apologize ahead of time for the rambling
TL;DR what if we used dosing pumps to push water into a coral/invert QT, while simultaneously taking water out with a dosing pump in order to keep ALk, Po4, and No3- balanced

so I'm new to the art of QT, and I think/ hope I'm getting the hang of it. Starting with fish, I'm working to prevent velvet and ich from the tank. problem is, what's the point if I'm just going to introduce velvet or ich (and other coral pests ie. red bugs, flatworms from eggs, etc) when I add more coral or rock.

My line of thinking lead me to want to set up a coral QT for any incoming coral. I'm getting some higher end sps in a week or two, and obviously hope to get more coral down the road. Currently the Tank is follow which helps for the time being, but I should have fish in there by the end of march/mid April. Last thing I want to do do is introduce more pests

the issues I'm noticing with other coral QTs are the following
-Equipment costs
-Levels
-Alk NEEDS to be stable for SPS and LPS. the scary part is the coral will be in the tank for approximately 30-70 days, no one wants an expensive coral to die during this time. This might require dosing or a CRX, which itself is a relatively high investment. Especially for smaller tanks like a 5-20 gallon. I know, "no such thing as a high investment" and "it'll cost more if the entire tank gets wiped out" but surely there must be another way?