Coral is melting

bradyrollie4

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good Morning,
To start, I am fairly new to reefing. My 40 gal has cycled and i have live rock, live sand temp at 77F, 1 sump and a skimmer. My water conditions tested good multiple times. But my new coral frag I brought home looked like it was melting away. It was a hard coral (sorry i forgot the name) but the LFS said it was easy to take care of... I also did coral dip it as well before I transferred it into the tank. Any thoughts about why this would happen? I did not feed it any extra supplements. I only had it for 3 days. Thank you for any advice/help.

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
water parameters(before and after the melting)?
any recent changes before the melting?
considering you mention being new to reefing, how new/old is the 40G? some corals, mainly SPS do better with an established tank and tend to die off with newer tanks, regardless if cycled.

also; welcome aboard the r2r board. hello from PA!

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
corals in general are not easy to take care of, and hard corals are the more difficult types. Most start with soft corals, then on to lps, then sps (hard corals).

What kind of light do you have? Any flow in the tank? Tank pics are always helpful.

A newly cycled tank will go through many changes that are very challenging to corals since they like stability and don't like any changes.

Its important to know what kind of coral you are buying, and what it needs to survive, every coral is different. Research is a part of the hobby, and keeping corals successfully requires lots of googling and knowledge. And it should be done before the purchase, impulse buys rarely work out.

OP
OP
bradyrollie4

bradyrollie4

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0