Coralline Algae in a bottle, myth or fact?

G Santana

Hospitality Elf
View Badges
Reaction score
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/this-little-pigg
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience with this magic in a bottle and my tank is on the far side of the ugly phase so I'd like to start to grow coralline algae to cover the bare rocks.
I purchased a few snails with pink algae on them but nothing yet in a month or so (yeah I know it takes time, been there) but I'd thought I'd give this a shot and try to chronicle any growth.
Anyone with good reviews?

Here goes nothing!!!
20210505_124658.jpg

drblank1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Didn't work for me. Added pink and purple after fishless cycle and before adding fish. After 3 months, no cor. algae. I probably did something wrong.

dvgyfresh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Worked for me, just kno it’s a bunch of different strains in the bottle and the one that is most suitable will thrive , I’ve got green coraline algae / pink / purple. My issue is that I have asterina starfish that love to eat it, I also use purple tech to increase the growth

OP
OP
G Santana

G Santana

Hospitality Elf
View Badges
Reaction score
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/this-little-pigg
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Worked for me, just kno it’s a bunch of different strains in the bottle and the one that is most suitable will thrive , I’ve got green coraline algae / pink / purple. My issue is that I have asterina starfish that love to eat it, I also use purple tech to increase the growth
I've had pink and purple, it would be really nice to have green. You got lucky

Suohhen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0