Corals are shrinking/dying and Dinoflagellates

Knox614

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, I'm new at this hobby and have recently started up this new tank that's 4 months old with LPS and SPS. They were doing great for a while and so far the Zoas are thriving. I only have 3 fishes 3 shrimps, 5 red skarlet hermit crabs, 2 nassarius snails, and 7 blue leg crabs at the moment.

Until recently my corals have been shrinking/dying and I think its a Dinoflagellates problem. They're all over the floor and on the rocks and I can't get rid of them. I've done water changes sucking off the sands, and scrapped them off. Just last night I turn off my protein skimmer, and fed them heavily of mysis shrimp and reef roids to get my phosphate and nitrate up. I then lower the lights to below 50%. Is the tank just going through the ugly phase? I'm thinking about doing a 5 day blackout.

Parameter
Alkalinity: 11
Phosphate: 0
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Ammonia: 0
PH: 8.2
Salinity: 1.025
Magnesium: 1400
Calcium: 410

20231025_114437.jpg 16985100605978906300091135168035.jpg 16985100765963758977845665521091.jpg 16985100960106465038370933044162.jpg

slingfox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Common suggestions jn this situation are get nutrients up, run UV sterilizer 24/7 (preferably pulling and feeding back into display tank), dose beneficial bacteria (competes against the dinos), add copepods (eats the dinos), and dose silicate if you are battling dinos on the sand. You may also want to get a cheap microscope to properly ID the dinos. Of these suggestions it seems like UV is the most cited step which turned the tide (ie, doing the others may not be enough or will take a whole lot longer without UV).

Since you don't have much livestock. You may want to dose phosphate and nitrate instead of trying to get them up by over feeding.

OP
OP
K

Knox614

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0