Cycling: No ammonia, no nitrite, now what?

SaltWaterTerp

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 16-gallon tank, started fishless cycling about a month ago, and I now have zero ammonia and zero nitrite — woohoo. Been only 2 days with these readings. So what’s next?

Should I wait longer to be sure?
Should I add some ammonia and see if the bacteria does its job?
Should I do a water change and start adding my first livestock?

Thanks in advance!

PS: I’m a saltwater rookie, and a rookie to the forum, but I’m excited to be here! And I’m sorry if my question is dumb, or if it’s been answered elsewhere.

KJ

Lone Wolf
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!!!
At this point your tank is running, your rocks and sand are in place, your powerheads are positioned, and your filtration has been fine tuned. This is the part that is most important to the well being of your tank. You cannot skip this step or your aquarium will never stop cycling. This can take up to 6 months before you can add any corals. Don’t fret. There is still plenty to do and see! The cycle is a very interesting thing to watch.

Section 5: The Cycle

image via @rusticgirls

In a freshwater aquarium you can add some flake food, wait a couple weeks, and then you can add fish. In the ocean there is much more involved than mechanical filtration. In fact, 70% of your aquariums filtration relies on the maturity of the live rock. A combination of bacteria, algae, and various invertebrates compose the “live” part of the rock. It takes quite a while to establish an ecosystem, even on a microscopic level. Without a proper understanding of the Marine Cycle, you will be in for a long term battle with parameters and algae. There are six main stages to a properly cycled tank. Follow this guide and you cannot mess up. You will need your basic test kit to test the progress.

Stage 1: Ammonia Cycle