Damselfsh aggresion and pump flow

Jarrito

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to reef keeping and my lfs recommended I get two damselfsh for my innovative marine 10 gal. I have a bunch of live rock in my sump and display area. I have two questions, I have a rock cave in the man display and one damselfish stays in the cave besides feeding and does not let the other one in. It nips its fins and forces it to always be out. Is this normal aggression and territorial behavior? My other question is the pump seems to be very powerful for this size of tank because when the fish are in the direct flow they are blown into the side of the glass, they also somehow get sucked by the pump. Any solutions? Should I upgrade the tank? or maybe replace the pump?

sunken3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
well first... Damsels are recommended because they are hardy and cheap... unfortunately they are also super aggressive (think small dog syndrome). If you read enough posts you will see many toss them or give them to someone else (I would not advocate tossing them... just saying). Depending on what type of damsel you were sold, you may have issues with new fish additions in the future.

As for the pump, I have an older IM and the pump wasn't too strong.. maybe they have upgraded it (or your fish are really small). you could install a valve in the hose to adjust the flow down, or better by one of the rotating nozzles that goes on the end (in you tank)... they spin to give more random flow while reducing the jet stream effect.

vtecintegra

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
More often then not, damsels are territorial, aggressive, mean, annoying, and jerks. Two in 10 gallons is asking for trouble. I had one of the supposedly peaceful ones, and it caused havoc in 130 gallons. Took two months to finally catch it.

sunken3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0