DaStaCo long pause alarm

olaggie01

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
438
Reaction score
113
Location
Austin
What does it mean? In fact, what do all the alarms mean? Manual is pretty bad

Any help is appreciated.

Chris
 

robbous

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
209
Reaction score
57
Location
New hampshire
wish i could help you i just ordered one and have not recieved it yet, its hard to find support online with this product when needed other then a facebook group. Should start a Dastaco thread for support type help and reviews for people here in the states that own one of these units
 

acesq

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
548
Reaction score
645
Location
Los Angeles
I assume you solved this problem since your post was months ago, but from the manual and my experience, if you are getting a long pulse alarm it can mean that the dosing pump is not working properly either because of an obstruction, the water inlet tube is above the water line (this happened to me last week) the peripump tubing is shot or is installed improperly (I've heard of it twisting on install which prevents it from working) or you aren't venting it at least once per day.

I've also had an alarm (not sure if long pulse or short pulse) when the CO2 tank is empty and from gunk getting in the float preventing it from moving cleanly. A quick clean out of the co2 chamber solves that.

The best thing about these units is that there are so few moving parts its not hard to pintpoint the cuase of an alarm. Oh, that there is an alarm is pretty great too, otherwise you might not realize that the unit is not working properly until your alk drops significantly.
 

acesq

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
548
Reaction score
645
Location
Los Angeles
You should set the power to a timer or apex and vent once per day for normal use. This prevents inert gasses from building up and increasing the ph. You can vent more often and this will increase the capacity of the unit somewhat. They recommend more ventings if you are maxed out on the dial and your alk is still dropping.
 

robbous

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 6, 2013
Messages
209
Reaction score
57
Location
New hampshire
You should set the power to a timer or apex and vent once per day for normal use. This prevents inert gasses from building up and increasing the ph. You can vent more often and this will increase the capacity of the unit somewhat. They recommend more ventings if you are maxed out on the dial and your alk is still dropping.
That will probably be me i just bought a dastaco Extrema A4 for my 500 gallon sps dominated tank, always wanted one of these units and i got one at a great price just hope its not to small for my beast
20232014_1483763638385149_8484521779952181425_o.jpg
 

acesq

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
548
Reaction score
645
Location
Los Angeles
Beautiful tank! I’m sure it will keep up with your alk demand. I run my A3 at 5-6 to keep my alk at 7.8 - 8 on this 340. Plenty of headroom.
 

TexasTodd

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
831
Reaction score
771
Location
San Antonio, TX
Wish I could find a good deal on one!
Nice displays you two.
I'm back in and building up after a 5 year break. Purchased a used 2 year old setup about six months ago.
Years ago I remember needing (wanting) a 2hp chiller, posting some frags for sale, and a week later had the $2k+ for the chiller. It's hard without the stuff to barter now!
 
OP
olaggie01

olaggie01

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 22, 2010
Messages
438
Reaction score
113
Location
Austin
Sorry. I never got back on this thread. I get a long pause alarm from time to time. I assume it is Co2 build up and once I turn the unit off for a bit it goes away.

Thoughts?

It’s an awesome Co2 reactor and paired with Alkatronic it is nearly bullet proof
 

uniquecorals

UniqueCorals
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
5,497
Reaction score
1,742
Location
Los Angeles
Sorry. I never got back on this thread. I get a long pause alarm from time to time. I assume it is Co2 build up and once I turn the unit off for a bit it goes away.

Thoughts?

It’s an awesome Co2 reactor and paired with Alkatronic it is nearly bullet proof
I would swap out the rotor and tubing inside the peristaltic pump every year max to keep the unit nice and happy. Also make sure this pump is mounted at the height of the top of the unit. Don't set the alk dial at 1 or it seems to throw alarms. I prefer 2 ventings per day to keep the unit happy as well. If you do these basic things the unit seems to run almost flawlessly. Hope this helps. Here are the alarms. (Scroll to the bottom for US)
 

Attachments

Any special reefing plans for this week?

  • Yes

    Votes: 39 42.4%
  • No

    Votes: 42 45.7%
  • Maybe

    Votes: 11 12.0%

Online statistics

Members online
1,487
Guests online
3,647
Total visitors
5,134
Underwater Creations, Inc.
Top