Deep Sand Bed (DSB) - The unpopular opinion

Dolphins18

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I realize this is my first post on this forum but I wanted to shed some light on my experience with DSB's. I've been a part of other forums for 10+ years but have recently been attracted to this site, and the amount of traffic it receives.

I am no scientist by any means, but I will let you guys know my thoughts on running a DSB in a fuge. I have had a a DSB in my fuge for about 15 years, feeding a 25 year old display that has crushed coral as its substrate.

My sand bed is about 4-5" deep in the fuge. It is full of black metal deposits. I accidentally dropped a rock that had previously been buried in the sand for the last 5 years and it made a huge brown mess in both the tank and the fuge. Attached is a picture showing the amount of black metal deposits in the sand. Typically, these are associated with a chemical known as Hydrogen Sulfide (H2S), this is an incredibly toxic gas that when released can cause major harm to all living creatures, including humans. Some people in the past have determined this has crashed their entire tank. (Note: I had not stirred the sand once since it was put in)

I was looking for something in the DSB that ripped a large clown to pieces. I did not find it, but I dropped a rock and made a huge mess. Naturally, I was pretty worried after seeing how much of a mess I made. The display is stocked full of fish, corals, and various inverts. They did not seem to mind much, and after a stressful night, I woke up to what appeared to be a perfectly normal tank.