Devastated

MeMyFishandI

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I got a new fish today. Actually, I got three. One went in to the main tank, and two had to go in to QT as their SG was way lower than my main tank. In the course of an hour, the QT tank had a massive ammonia spike. I quickly did a water change and got the levels back to normal. In the end, it killed one of the fish I had just brought home. The fish in the main tank went missing and I eventually found it hiding within - as in deep inside- a rock.

I had a "massive" (two fish - out of two fish) die off a few months ago, where I was very excited to move my fish from their 10g to their new, super fun, made just for them, 25g. They died within 48 hours of the move and I still don't know why.

I have no hope that these fish will survive the night.

I am not new to fish keeping. I have been doing the reef thing for a year but I have more than 15 years of fresh water experience. I know how this *should* work. I just don't know if I can keep salties anymore, as much as I love them.

Top it all off, I found a cat poop nugget in my bed. Ugh.

Vent over (for today).

Thanks for listening.

magicwhistle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What do you mean when you say you added them to the tank?

Did you add them after acclimating? Did you just dump the bagged water into the tanks with the fish?

ScottR

Surfing....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First off, sorry about your loss. What kind of filtration and pumps do you have? Zeros ammonia and NO2 I’m assuming? Any pics of your setup. Hopefully someone here can help you to be more successful.

magicwhistle

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I noticed from one of your previous posts you had concerns about your RODI filter.