Direct and Indirect sunlight concerns.

CringeTankDaddy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The photos make my concern very clear. Although there will be no direct sunlight or "rays" hitting the tank this new place is very bright in general. I do have blinds on every single pane but I got this place for the windows obviously. Is this just going to be too bright to do LPS or SPS corals? Will they brown immediately? I am ok-ish with algae because I am willing to put in the effort to clean that in different ways. My main concern is health and aesthetic. I know I could black that right side off to help and I will consider doing that if It truly is going to save the tank but I would love to be able to keep that view so I could look behind the aquascape. Thank you in advance! This is my first attempt ever. I am taking it slow and loving every bit of the "researching". 2 month obsession about to begin in a week or two!!!

IMG_20230710_152514103_BURST000_COVER.jpg IMG_20230710_152525581_HDR.jpg

Doctorgori

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
here is my SIMILAR situation
image.jpg

I’m not seeing a PAR issue and in fact its actually good since i can tune down my LED’s… main issues are temps and algae…even with PO under .05, I can’t keep up with that soft brown stuff… my suggestion is pack in the corals or anything to keep your nitrates or whatever in check or get a good scraper

littlefoxx

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think its okay! My tank is in my kitchen which gets bright during the day but not in direct sunlight like yours and my corals dont have an issue with it

Reefering1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Corals get plenty sunlight in the ocean... as stated above, algea is the concern. If you're willing to put in a little extra work(mainly in the beginning), you don't have a problem

Reefing102

Metal Halides Til The End
View Badges