DIY AIO

seder710

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to Salt Water and want to do a FOWLR in my 40g acrylic tank. I am still in the research stages and trying to plan out my tank as best I can.

I am considering modifying my 40-gallon acrylic tank into an AIO. Since I already have the tank, I figured I would (hopefully) save some money converting this tank rather than buying a new AIO. I'd love a bigger tank, but also considering the Fluval 13.5 EVO as an "easier" alternative.

I do not have room for a sump so AIO is the next best option in order to hide all the equipment.

Here is the tank I have: 40 gallon SeaClear Acrylic
https://www.petsmart.com/fish/tanks...iums/seaclear-40-gallon-aquarium-5073937.html

I would like to put the AIO unit at the back (Open to the side, but would rather be in the back) based on the current layout of the top I would need to cut out some of the acrylic to make it accessible. Will cutting out part of the acrylic top alter the structural integrity of the tank? (the acrylic is 1/4" material)

Here is a layout of the top of the tank...
tank top.jpg

Here is what I think I want to cut out for access to the filter.

tank top altered.jpg

Here is one of the AIO Build Idea threads I've been reading for ideas, I've also looked at some youtube videos: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/aio-20l-diy-build.79473/

For the return pump is a 400 gph pump enough? I found this one that looks decent, but I'm not really sure what to look for so any suggestions would be great.

I have a couple of designs for the AIO compartment I want to build that I've Frankenstein together based on other AIO... I would love your opinions on the best design for the filter compartments.

I plan to use 1/8" or 1/4" acrylic, I have seen them built with both types of material so I'm not sure which is best.
IMG-2473.jpg

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0