DIY Algae Scrubber

Carz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been working this project for a few months now. I got some good advice from the people of this forum and wanted to give a report back. I made a prototype out of some foam board first and then I made a working model that I put on my tank on 11/24 for testing.

Screen Shot 2019-12-22 at 4.56.43 PM.png

My concern was the choice of lights I got from amazon. was not sure if they would work. At $24 each I thought why not just try them. I put two of these lights on the test model and started to see growth within one week and has continued to grow ever since. I ran the lights 24/7 for the first week and then I started to run the lights for only 12 hours after that.

IMG_3926.jpeg
IMG_3957.jpeg
IMG_3969.jpeg
Screen Shot 2019-12-22 at 5.13.21 PM.png

After running for about 3 weeks the acrylic started to bow. The lid was pretty bad. I was going to double the acrylic on the final model but changed my mind.

Screen Shot 2019-12-22 at 5.18.28 PM.png

So when I worked out most of the bugs I had a final model. I added a poly carbonate lid and hinges. I made 3 of them. Gave two to friends for testing. I was going to wait before I put mine in to place. My original demo was working just fine and I am basically measuring algae growth at this point.

IMG_3961.jpeg
IMG_3959.jpeg