Diy sump

Kade76

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I just purchased a 10-gallon tank so i could make a sump for a 29 gallon I have never done this, and I have no experience with sumps and would like to know what to do first and just what to do overall.

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I just purchased a 10-gallon tank so i could make a sump for a 29 gallon I have never done this, and I have no experience with sumps and would like to know what to do first and just what to do overall.
Youtube ftw. Better to have a visual aid.

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Really depends on what you want to do and what equipment you want to use. I Like a simple design (mostly cause it's easy for me to make without it being super ugly haha). One, two, or three baffles (no baffles works too). I also like to use a premade filtersock holder in the first chamber (if you have chambers).

BOYERZ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 29 g dt

My sump is a 15 g

I would do a 2 chamber sump in your 10 g.

Hope you can get some ideas from this:
20240314_184902.jpg

OP
OP
K

Kade76

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Really depends on what you want to do and what equipment you want to use. I Like a simple design (mostly cause it's easy for me to make without it being super ugly haha). One, two, or three baffles (no baffles works too). I also like to use a premade filtersock holder in the first chamber (if you have chambers).
I am looking at acrylic kits and found some good looking ones I am not a big fan of filter socks considering the maintenance is there any cheap alternative will sponge/filter floss pads work?

OP
OP
K

Kade76

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 29 g dt

My sump is a 15 g

I would do a 2 chamber sump in your 10 g.