Dosing human praziquantel (Biltricide) if Prazipro not available?

ConsummatePro

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In Canada we can't get fish meds anymore - ugh. I can get a supply of human Praziquantel 600 mg tabs (I'm a doctor, so trust me!). I realize this med can be hard to dissolve in water but assuming we just crush the pills and dissolve them, has anyone tried just using this?

https://humble.fish/community/index.php?threads/praziquantel.25/ suggests a dose of:
  • 2.0 - 2.5 mg/L for at least 24 hours (Quarantine Tank dosage)
  • 7.5 mg/L in a 6 hour bath (temperature control and heavily aerate the water)
  • 10 mg/L in a 3 hour bath (temperature control and heavily aerate the water)
Any experience or suggestions using the pharmaceutical prescription human pills for this?

threebuoys

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In Canada we can't get fish meds anymore - ugh. I can get a supply of human Praziquantel 600 mg tabs (I'm a doctor, so trust me!). I realize this med can be hard to dissolve in water but assuming we just crush the pills and dissolve them, has anyone tried just using this?

https://humble.fish/community/index.php?threads/praziquantel.25/ suggests a dose of:
Any experience or suggestions using the pharmaceutical prescription human pills for this?
This is a previous response from Jay. Should work fine for you.

That product seems to be repackaged praziquantel. They say to dose one time, but that is an error, it needs to be dosed twice, about 8 days apart.

It is difficult to get powdered prazi to dissolve (that's why prazipro uses a solvent). What i do is use either a baby brine shrimp net (hard to find now days) or some nylon stockings and wearing gloves and a mask, put the powder inside and then rinse/massage it through the net material out into the main tank.

Jay

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0